Mimal members elect new board

28 October 2017
Voting tally board at the 2017 Mimal AGM

Members of Mimal Land Management have elected nine directors to manage the corporation for the next two years.

Seven of the nine elected have served on the board in the previous two-year term, while Annette Murray and Joseph Brown join the board for the first time.

The votes were cast by members in a mobile polling covering the Rembarrnga and Dalabon diaspora at Bulman, Weemol, Katherine, Barunga, Manyallaluk and Beswick.

The sealed ballot box was opened and votes counted at the 2017 AGM held outside the Bulman Council office on Friday, October 27.

Mimal’s board is made up of three members from each of three “classes” of membership. The classes are Bininj Koiyek (clans from the east), Bininj Buldjdjan (clans from the middle) and Bininj Karri (clans from the west).

A ballot was needed only for the Bininj Koiyek and Bininj Karri classes as only three nominations were received for the Bininj Buldjdjan class.

The Mimal Board serving until 2019 is:

Bininj Koiyek: Alfred Rickson, Annette Murray (new) and Mario Redford.

Bininj Buldjdjan: John Dalywater, Maggie Takumba and Kenneth Bununjoa (all continuing)

Bininj Karri: Guy Rankin, Delma McCartney and Joseph Brown (new).

At the time of the AGM, Mimal had 107 members.